Early Learning Goals

Early Learning Goals
The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development, and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.
Our Reception teacher and team work with all our pupils ensuring each child is continually given opportunities to develop skills and knowledge further, and to apply their skills to ensure they have depth to their learning. Skills are learnt through well-planned play both indoors and outdoors, which will result in them learning with enjoyment and challenge.

Areas of learning

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design
The Early Learning Goals (ELGs) are the goals or targets that children should achieve at the end of their reception year. They will be working towards these goals throughout their time in EYFS (birth to 5) across all 7 areas of learning in the EYFS curriculum.
Some children will exceed these goals/targets. Look below at the Early Learning Goal's for each area of learning, They are split into the three Prime areas and the four Specific areas. The specific areas have become increasingly important this year as the children move through reception class towards year 1.